Acta Universitatis Danubius. Relationes Internationales, Vol 6, No 2 (2013)

Tora – the Law of the Old Testament

Laurentiu Nicolae Stamatin


In the Old Testament, the five books of Moses, Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy, are known as the Torah. This includes a number of 613 commandments (mitzvot), which are essential for Judaism, and part of them for Christianity. The core of these requirements is the Decalogue, or Ten Commandments, given by God to Moses on Mount Sinai. In fact, the author of five books is considered to be Moses himself, the great leader of the chosen people. Some believe these were written in the period of 40 days on Mount Holy, others during the 40 years in the wilderness. This article captures some aspects of teaching Torah and the access of various Jewish people to study fundamental law.


Full Text: PDF


  • There are currently no refbacks.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.